Short Comment on Boyhood by Richard Linklater

boyhood.jpg

I can’t remember the last time a film affected me as much as Richard Linklater’s Boyhood did. The movie stirred emotions I’d put aside or forgotten about for years, and toward the end of the movie I knew it was going to permanently change my life for the better.

As you probably know, Boyhood was filmed over 12 years with the same cast. Basically, you just watch a boy named Mason grow up. That’s it. There are no major plot twists — very few surprises.

Instead, the movie shows a series of authentic and generally mundane moments that are made all the more real by the fact that the cast remains consistent throughout the film. Because the moments aren’t heightened for dramatic effect, they conjured feelings from my own boyhood and I realized that in some ways I have wandered very far from that self. Watching Boyhood awakened parts of me I didn’t know still existed.

A few additional, random thoughts:

 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

October Advent, Day 9: Invisible Death

[Click the link above to see the post on Medium. I’m transitioning to Medium.] Before about 1930, most people in Western countries died in their own homes, surrounded by family, and comforted by clergy, neighbors, and doctors making... Continue →